Join Me on Twitter

Indian State Capitals: Ordered from East to West

indian state capitals
Dashamlav | 10 February 2020 (अंतिम बदलाव: 18 August 2020)

Indian mainland is a part of the Eastern Hemisphere in entirety. However, there exist a time difference of about two hours from the easternmost part and westernmost part of India. This reflects the vast longitudinal extent of our country.

It has been observed that some prominent competitive examinations often ask questions on geographical position of any particular prominent location in India from East to West or North to South. While it is impossible to learn and remember the exact position of all the prominent locations in India, Dashamlav has created a table of the Indian state capitals arranged in from East to West to help the students attempt such questions confidently. Here we go!

indian state capitals

Indian State Capitals: Ordered from East to West
S. No. State Capital State Longitude
1. Kohima (Easternmost Capital) Nagaland 94°10`E
2. Imphal Manipur 93°93`E
3. Itanagar Arunachal Pradesh 93°62`E
4. Aizwal Mizoram 92°72`E
5. Shillong Meghalaya 91°88`E
6. Dispur Assam 91°79`E
7. Agartala Tripura 91°28`E
8. Gangtok Sikkim 88°61`E
9. Kolkata West Bengal 88°34`E
10. Bhubaneswar Odisha 85°53`E
11. Ranchi Jharkhand 85°32`E
12. Patna Bihar 85°12`E
13. Raipur Chhattisgarh 81°63`E
14. Lucknow Uttar Pradesh 80°93`E
15. Chennai Tamil Nadu 80°28`E
16. Hyderabad Andhra Pradesh & Telangana 78°47`E
17. Dehradun Uttarakhand 78°04`E
18. Bengaluru Karnataka 77°59`E
19. Bhopal Madhya Pradesh 77°39`E
20. Shimla Himachal Pradesh 77°17`E
21. New Delhi New Delhi 77°10`E
22. Chandigarh Punjab & Haryana 76°76`E
23. Thiruvananthapuram Kerala 76°95`E
24. Jaipur Rajasthan 75°82`E
25. Panaji Goa 73°49`E
26. Mumbai Maharashtra 72°83`E
27. Gandhinagar (Westernmost Capital) Gujarat 72°64`E
Use the citation below to add this article to your bibliography

"Indian State Capitals: Ordered from East to West." Web. 30 May 2024. <>, "Indian State Capitals: Ordered from East to West." Accessed 30 May 2024.

"Indian State Capitals: Ordered from East to West." (n.d.). Retrieved 30 May 2024 from