Join Me on Twitter

List of Bharat Ratna Winners (1954-2019)

bharat ratna award winners list
Dashamlav | 24 February 2020 (अंतिम बदलाव: 24 April 2021)

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India. Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India. It was instituted in the year 1954 and the first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were politician C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and scientist C. V. Raman.

The Bharat Ratna is conferred “in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order”, without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex. Bharat Ratna can be awarded posthumously. Youngest Bharat Ratna recipient is cricketer Sachin Tendulkar who received the award at the age of 40 in the year 2014. The oldest recipient is social reformer Dhondo Keshav Karve who received the award at the age of 100 years.

Following non-India-born people have been conferred with Bharat Ratna:

  • Mother Teresa (Albania-born, naturalized Indian citizen) was awarded in 1980
  • Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (Pakistani citizen) was awarded in 1987
  • Nelson Mandela (South African citizen) was awarded in 1990

The following Bharat Ratna winners have also won the Nobel Prize:

  • CV Raman (Nobel Prize in Physics in 1930; Bharat Ratna in 1954)
  • Mother Teresa (Nobel Peace Prize in 1979; Bharat Ratna in 1980)
  • Amartya Sen (Nobel Prize in Economics in 1998; Bharat Ratna in 1999)

Award composition: a medal is in the shape of a peepal leaf, a certificate signed by the President of India. There is no cash component in the award. The holders of the Bharat Ratna rank seventh in the Indian order of precedence.

bharat ratna award winners list

The Bharat Ratna medals are produced at Alipore Mint, Kolkata, West Bengal.

List of Bharat Ratna Winners

List of Bharat Ratna Winners
No. Year Recipient State/Country Work
1 1954 C. Rajagopalachari Tamil Nadu Politician
2 1954 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Tamil Nadu Philosopher
3 1954 C. V. Raman Tamil Nadu Scientist
4 1955 Bhagwan Das Uttar Pradesh Philosopher
5 1955 M. Visvesvaraya Karnataka Civil Engineer
6 1955 Jawaharlal Nehru Uttar Pradesh Politician
7 1957 Govind Ballabh Pant Uttarakhand Politician
8 1958 Dhondo Keshav Karve Maharashtra Social reformer
9 1961 Bidhan Chandra Roy West Bengal Politician
10 1961 Purushottam Das Tandon Uttar Pradesh Freedom fighter
11 1962 Rajendra Prasad Bihar Freedom fighter
12 1963 Zakir Husain Uttar Pradesh Freedom fighter
13 1963 Pandurang Vaman Kane Maharashtra Indologist
14 1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri Uttar Pradesh Politician
15 1971 Indira Gandhi Uttar Pradesh Politician
16 1975 V. V. Giri Odisha Freedom fighter
17 1976 K. Kamaraj Tamil Nadu Politician
18 1980 Mother Teresa West Bengal Social worker
19 1983 Vinoba Bhave Maharashtra Social reformer
20 1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan Pakistan Freedom fighter
21 1988 M. G. Ramachandran Tamil Nadu Politician
22 1990 B. R. Ambedkar Madhya Pradesh Social reformer
23 1990 Nelson Mandela South Africa Social reformer
24 1991 Rajiv Gandhi Uttar Pradesh Politician
25 1991 Vallabhbhai Patel Gujarat Politician
26 1991 Morarji Desai Gujarat Politician
27 1992 Abul Kalam Azad West Bengal Freedom fighter
28 1992 J. R. D. Tata Maharashtra Industrialist
29 1992 Satyajit Ray West Bengal Film maker
30 1997 Gulzarilal Nanda Punjab Freedom fighter
31 1997 Aruna Asaf Ali West Bengal Freedom fighter
32 1997 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam Tamil Nadu Scientist
33 1998 M. S. Subbulakshmi Tamil Nadu Singer
34 1998 Chidambaram Subramaniam Tamil Nadu Politician
35 1999 Jayaprakash Narayan Bihar Social reformer
36 1999 Amartya Sen West Bengal Economist
37 1999 Gopinath Bordoloi Assam Politician
38 1999 Ravi Shankar West Bengal Musician
39 2001 Lata Mangeshkar Maharashtra Singer
40 2001 Bismillah Khan Bihar Musician
41 2009 Bhimsen Joshi Karnataka Singer
42 2014 C. N. R. Rao Karnataka Scientist
43 2014 Sachin Tendulkar Maharashtra Cricketer
44 2015 Madan Mohan Malaviya Uttar Pradesh Social reformer
45 2015 Atal Bihari Vajpayee Madhya Pradesh Politician
46 2019 Pranab Mukherjee West Bengal Politician
47 2019 Bhupen Hazarika Assam Musician
48 2019 Nanaji Deshmukh Maharashtra Social reformer

So, this was the complete list of Bharat Ratna winners. Do let us know your thoughts on this article!

Use the citation below to add this article to your bibliography

"List of Bharat Ratna Winners (1954-2019)." Web. 20 June 2024. <>, "List of Bharat Ratna Winners (1954-2019)." Accessed 20 June 2024.

"List of Bharat Ratna Winners (1954-2019)." (n.d.). Retrieved 20 June 2024 from