Equator: Location and the Countries it Passes Through

Equator is an imaginary line around the middle of the Earth or any other planet/celestial body. It is equidistant both from North Pole and South Pole of the celestial body. On Earth, equator passes through 11 countries. Countries falling on the equator experience the tropical rain forest or equatorial climate.

ALSO SEE: Tropic of Cancer and Tropic of Capricorn

Dashamlav has prepared a continent-wise list of countries passing through the equator. In total, the equator passes through the land of 11 countries:

Which Countries Equator Passes Through

Over land, the Equator passes through the following 11 countries:


  1. São Tomé and Príncipe
  2. Gabon
  3. Republic of the Congo
  4. The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  5. Uganda
  6. Kenya
  7. Somalia

prime meridian and equator


  1. Indonesia

South America

  1. Ecuador
  2. Colombia
  3. Brazil

It would be pertinent to remember that equator passes through the territorial waters of two Island nations namely Maldives & Kiribati. Hence the equator passes through a total of 13 countries of the world.

Use the citation below to add this article to your bibliography

"Equator: Location and the Countries it Passes Through." Dashamlav.com. Web. 3 June 2023. <https://dashamlav.com/equator-location-and-the-countries-it-passes-through/>

Dashamlav.com, "Equator: Location and the Countries it Passes Through." Accessed 3 June 2023. https://dashamlav.com/equator-location-and-the-countries-it-passes-through/

"Equator: Location and the Countries it Passes Through." (n.d.). Dashamlav.com. Retrieved 3 June 2023 from https://dashamlav.com/equator-location-and-the-countries-it-passes-through/