Join Me on Twitter

Districts in Ladakh Union Territory of India

Dashamlav Logo
Dashamlav | 14 November 2019 (अंतिम बदलाव: 4 May 2020)

On 31 October 2019, Government of India converted the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories, namely Ladakh and Jammu and Kashmir. The division of Jammu and Kashmir state was done as per the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019. After the split, Ladakh is now composed of the following two districts:

  • Kargil
  • Leh

1. Kargil District of Ladakh

With an area of 14,036 sq km, Kargil is the smaller of the two districts in Ladakh. According to 2011 Census, the population of Kargil was 143,388 people. Headquarters of Kargil district is Kargil.

2. Leh District of Ladakh

Leh is much bigger than Kargil in terms of area — but population-wise it is more or less same. Area of Leh district is 45,110 sq km and total population, as per 2011 Census, is 147,104 people.

Use the citation below to add this article to your bibliography

"Districts in Ladakh Union Territory of India." Web. 25 May 2024. <>, "Districts in Ladakh Union Territory of India." Accessed 25 May 2024.

"Districts in Ladakh Union Territory of India." (n.d.). Retrieved 25 May 2024 from