Nobel Prize Winners of 2020

As we all know, Nobel Prize is considered to be the world’s most prestigious honor. Alfred Nobel established his award in 1895. The Nobel Prizes were first awarded in the year 1901. Now this award is bestowed annually in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature, Economics and Peace. Various Swedish and Norwegian institutions select awardees every year.

Nobel Prize Laureates of the Year 2020

Winners of Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2020

  1. Harvey J. Alter (USA)
  2. Michael Houghton (GBR)
  3. Charles M. Rice (USA)

Motivation for the award: for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus.

nobel prize winners

Winners of Nobel Prize in Physics 2020

  1. Roger Penrose (GBR)
  2. Reinhard Genzel (DEU)
  3. Andrea Ghez (USA)

Motivation for the award: Roger Penrose received the 50% award for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity. Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez received 25% each for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.

Winners of Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2020

  1. Emmanuelle Charpentier (FRA)
  2. Jennifer A. Doudna (USA)
Motivation for the award: for the development of a method for genome editing.

Winners of Nobel Prize in Economics 2020

  1. Paul R. Milgrom (USA)
  2. Robert B. Wilson (USA)
Motivation for the award: for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats.

Winner of Nobel Prize in Literature 2020

Louise Glück (USA) is the winner of Nobel Prize in Literature 2020. She has been awarded for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.

Winner of Nobel Prize in Peace 2020

The Nobel Peace Prize 2020 has been awarded to the World Food Progamme (WFP) for its efforts to combat hunger, for its contribution to bettering conditions for peace in conflict-affected areas and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict.

Use the citation below to add this article to your bibliography
Styles:, "Nobel Prize Winners of 2020." Accessed 29 July 2021.

"Nobel Prize Winners of 2020." (n.d.). Retrieved 29 July 2021 from