1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. World
  4. Nobel Prize Winners
  5. Shmuel Yosef Agnon

Shmuel Yosef Agnon

nobel prize for literature

Details of the Nobel Prize awarded to Shmuel Yosef Agnon
Full Name
of the recipient
Shmuel Yosef Agnon
AwardNobel Prize in Literature
Year of Award1966
Share in Award50.0%
Award Shared withNelly Sachs (50.0%)
for the Award
for his profoundly characteristic narrative art with motifs from the life of the Jewish people
Place of BirthBuczacz (now Buchach), Austria-Hungary (now known as Ukraine UKR)
Date of Birth17 July 1888
at the time of Award
77 years
Place of DeathRehovot, Israel ISR
Date of Death17 February 1970
Last updated on 12 April 2021 06:26:34
Dashamlav Logo ImageDashamlav