1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. World
  4. Nobel Prize Winners
  5. Ernst Ruska

Ernst Ruska

nobel prize for physics

Details of the Nobel Prize awarded to Ernst Ruska
Full Name
of the recipient
Ernst Ruska
AwardNobel Prize in Physics
Year of Award1986
Share in Award50.0%
Award Shared withGerd Binnig (25.0%)
Heinrich Rohrer (25.0%)
for the Award
for his fundamental work in electron optics, and for the design of the first electron microscope
at the Time of Award
Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin, Federal Republic of Germany
Place of BirthHeidelberg, Germany DEU
Date of Birth25 December 1906
at the time of Award
79 years
Place of DeathWest Berlin, Germany DEU
Date of Death27 May 1988
Last updated on 12 April 2021 06:26:34
Dashamlav Logo ImageDashamlav