Join Me on Twitter

List of Booker Prize Winners and Novels

dashamlav general banner
Dashamlav | 22 November 2020 (अंतिम बदलाव: 22 November 2020)

Booker Prize is one of the world’s most prestigious awards given in the field of literature. The Booker Prize is given annually to the best original novel written in the English language and published in the United Kingdom. This award is so famous that making even to its long-lists and short-lists is considered as an honor. The winners of this award often make it to the list of the famous books and authors. Following is the full list of the winners of Booker Prize, along with the names of the novels.

Note: Earlier this prize used to be known as Booker–McConnell Prize (1969–2001) and the Man Booker Prize (2002–2019).

Booker Prize Winners and Novels

List of Booker Prize Winners and Novels
Year Author Name Title Country
2020 Douglas Stuart Shuggie Bain United Kingdom, United States of America
2019 Margaret Atwood The Testaments Canada
2019 Bernardine Evaristo Girl, Woman, Other United Kingdom
2018 Anna Burns Milkman United Kingdom
2017 George Saunders Lincoln in the Bardo United States of America
2016 Paul Beatty The Sellout United States of America
2015 Marlon James A Brief History of Seven Killings Jamaica
2014 Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North Australia
2013 Eleanor Catton The Luminaries New Zealand
2012 Hilary Mantel Bring Up the Bodies United Kingdom
2011 Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending United Kingdom
2010 Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question United Kingdom
2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall United Kingdom
2008 Aravind Adiga The White Tiger India
2007 Anne Enright The Gathering Ireland
2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss India
2005 John Banville The Sea Ireland
2004 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty United Kingdom
2003 DBC Pierre Vernon God Little Australia
2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi Canada
2001 Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang Australia
2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin Canada
1999 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace South Africa
1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam United Kingdom
1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things India
1996 Graham Swift Last Orders United Kingdom
1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road United Kingdom
1994 James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late United Kingdom
1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha Ireland
1992 Michael Ondaatje The English Patient Canada
1992 Barry Unsworth Sacred Hunger United Kingdom
1991 Ben Okri The Famished Road Nigeria
1990 A. S. Byatt Possession United Kingdom
1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day United Kingdom
1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda Australia
1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger United Kingdom
1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils United Kingdom
1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People New Zealand
1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac United Kingdom
1983 J. M. Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K South Africa
1982 Thomas Keneally Schindler’s Ark Australia
1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children United Kingdom
1980 William Golding Rites of Passage United Kingdom
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore United Kingdom
1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea, the Sea Ireland, United Kingdom
1977 Paul Scott Staying On United Kingdom
1976 David Storey Saville United Kingdom
1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust United Kingdom, Germany
1974 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist South Africa
1974 Stanley Middleton Holiday United Kingdom
1973 J. G. Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur United Kingdom, Ireland
1972 John Berger G. United Kingdom
1971 V. S. Naipaul In a Free State United Kingdom, Trinidad and Tobago
1970 Bernice Rubens The Elected Member United Kingdom
1970 J. G. Farrell Troubles United Kingdom, Ireland
1969 P. H. Newby Something to Answer For United Kingdom
Use the citation below to add this article to your bibliography

"List of Booker Prize Winners and Novels." Web. 21 July 2024. <>, "List of Booker Prize Winners and Novels." Accessed 21 July 2024.

"List of Booker Prize Winners and Novels." (n.d.). Retrieved 21 July 2024 from